Current News


The Department of Chemistry would like to welcome our new graduate students for the 2017-2018 academic year:

Nicholas Boekell, Jennie Cawley, Brianna Dalesandro, Jeffrey Julien, Jiajie Li, Shea Martin, Craig Pointer, Lauren Rusiloski, Chengshuo Tian, and Teng Xue


Lehigh University has accepted Electronic Fluorocarbons (EFC) for participation in the Industrial Liaison program at the Lehigh Chemistry Department.  In addition, the University has appointed EFC’s Chief Scientist, Dr. Robert Syvret, as a University Research Fellow.

The Industrial Liaison program gives industry participants access to the University’s laboratories and other support services and encourages scientific interactions between the University’s staff and students and the industrial participant.

Congratulations to Dr. Tesia Chciuk of the Flowers Group!  She has became the first Lehigh student to receive the Anna Louise Hoffman Award for Outstanding Achievement in Graduate Research from Iota Sigma Pi, the National Honor Society for Women in Chemistry. The award is given annually to one graduate student in the United States.




Congratulations to the following Department of Chemistry Fellowship Recipients:

2017-2018 Department Fellowships: Chang Wang of the Regen Group and Le Wang of the Xu Group

College of Arts and Sciences Summer 2017 Research Fellowship: Siqi Yu of the Vicic Group

2017-2018 Horner Fellowship: Caleb Wehrmann of the Chen Group

Biosystems Dynamics Summer 2017 Institute Fellowship: Sean Pidgeon of the Pires Group and Ashley Baxter of the Wittenberg Group


Six College of Arts and Sciences faculty were recognized for excellence in service and advising when the college hosted its annual faculty awards dinner March 30, 2017 in the University Center’s Asa Packer dining room.

“I continue to be inspired by the service activities produced by our faculty,” said Donald Hall, dean of the college.  “Lehigh’s reputation for academic excellence is not possible without the passion and commitment of our faculty.  As I reviewed the nominees for recognition in our three different college sectors— arts/humanities, natural sciences/mathematics, and social sciences—I was extremely impressed with the contributions these faculty have made toward the college’s academic mission.”
Dr. James Roberts and two others were recognized for their service to college.

Dr. Roberts, associate professor and vice chair of chemistry,  serves as sole Head Usher, assisting the University Marshal at university events such as commencement, doctoral hooding ceremonies, Founders’ Day, Honors Convocation, and Presidential installations. He served head liaison with the university’s technology services during an upgrade of the networking system in Mudd building, overseeing the installation of more than 900 cables in the building and ensuring connections for every room in the building, and serves as chair of the department’s safety committee. At the college level, he serves as an advising mentor and is a member of Alpha Chi Sigma, a national professional organization supporting the chemistry profession. Roberts is also a member of the Lehigh Philharmonic Orchestra, playing in the French horn and trumpet sections.  He also performs with various community musical organizations, and serves as scoutmaster for a local troop.

The March for Sciencewas held all throughout the world on Earth Day (Saturday, April 22)! The march demonstrated our passion for science and show our concerns for recent policy changes. The mission was to “unite as a diverse, nonpartisan group to call for science that upholds the common good and for political leaders and policy makers to enact evidence based policies in the public interest.”


Congratulations to our January 2017 graduates, Jonathan Fura, Ph.D., Cong Liu, Ph.D. and Sophia Miotto, M.S.

The Department of Chemistry would like to welcome our new graduate students for the 2016-2017 academic year:

Ashley Baxter, Megan Blauch, Ryan Charlton, Noel Ferraro, Md Reaid Hasan, Devon Jakob, Lucie Loftus, George Ognwae, Eden Reichard, Zhe Wang and Darian Waugh

Congratulations to Kelly Burns of the Thevenin Research Group and Gabrielle Haddad-Weiser of the Flowers Research Group on successfully defending their dissertations this summer!  

Congratulations to Tesia Chciuk of the Flowers Research Group on publishing 
"Proton-Coupled Electron Transfer in the Reduction of Carbonyls by Samarium Diiodide–Water Complexes"
in the July 01, 2016 edition of the Journal of the American Chemical Society (

Congratulations to the following Department of Chemistry Fellowship Recipients:

2016-2017 Department Fellowships: Tesia Chciuk of the Flowers Group, Sean Pidgeon of the Pires Group and Sarah Plucinsky of the Glover Group

College of Arts and Sciences Summer Research Fellowship: William Leon of the Vezenov Group

2016-2017 Horner Fellowship: Long Xu of the Vicic Group