News Archive

Congratulations to our General Chemistry Lab Manager, Professor Denise Beautreau, on being awarded the Alfred Noble Robinson Exempt and Non-Exempt Staff Award whichrecognizes outstanding performance in service to the University. Denise has also been awarded the Club/Organization Advisor of the Year for her advising work with Alpha Chi Sigma, the Chemistry Fraternity and the Lehigh chapter of National Society of Black Engineers.  

Dr. Marcos Pires has been presented with the American Chemical Society Infectious Disease Young Investigator Award.

Jonathan Fura, Sean Pidgeon, Morgan Birabaharan and Dr. Marcos Pires' research was featured on the cover of the April 8, 2016 ACS Infection Diseases Journal. 

View the article here.

Dr. Rebecca Miller was featured as one of the 25 Impressive Women Who Have Changed Lehigh as part of the 25th Birthday Party Celebration at Lehigh’s Women’s Center this spring.

Dr. Robert Flowers received the College of Arts and Sciences Dean's Award for Research, Scholarship and Creative activity for his work in physical organic chemistry and the techniques he has developed. 

David Vicic

The Vicic lab publishes a new way to prepare difluoromethylated arenes in JACS

David Vicic

Douglas Solowey, an undergraduate student in the Vicic lab, was awarded a prestigious 2014 Moissan Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship in Fluorine Chemistry.  This program is sponsored by the Fluorine Division of the American Chemical Society and provides funds for a student's summer salary and supplies.  It is awarded directly to faculty members conducting research in any area of fluorine chemistry at colleges or universities on the basis of competitively judged applications. In addition, a limited stipend will be available for Douglas to present his research results at an ACS sponsored meeting.

Jim Roberts

Congratulations to Jim Roberts, who received the Student Organization Advisor of the Year Award for his work as Faculty Advisor to Alpha Phi Omega.

Jebrell Glover

This highly competitive Professorship recognizes faculty who have achieved the rank of associate professor and have shown excellence in teaching, research, and service. He also received the Eleanor and Joseph F. Libsch Early Career Research Award, honoring a faculty member or members early in their research career demonstrating the potential for high-quality research and scholarship.

David Vicic

Please congratulate Dr. David Vicic, who has been elected as a Vice Chair of the Executive Committee of the American Chemical Society Division of Fluorine Chemistry. 

David Vicic

Peter Kaplan, a graduate student in the Vicic Lab, was a co-winner of the best poster award at the 22nd Winter Fluorine Conference at St. Pete Beach, FL for his poster entitled "New Reagents for (CF2)n Transfer and the Construction of Fluoroalkyl-Containing Rings". Winners were selected by referees from industry and academia and received $250.

Robert Flowers

Congratulations to the following chemistry graduate students awarded departmental fellowships for 2015-2016: Kelly Burns (Thévenin Group), Peter Kaplan (Vicic Group), and Godfred Fianu (Flowers Group).

Please welcome the following new graduate students for the 2015-2016 academic year: Xiang Ao, Caroline Bartulovich, Qingqing Cao, Phillip Esempio, Yu Han, Conor Jenkins, Michael Kerner, Sophia Miotto, Kelcie Molchany, and Haomin Wang.

Damien Thévenin

Damien Thévenin, assistant professor of chemistry, and Ph.D. candidate Kelly Burns are developing a system that delivers anti-cancer drugs exclusively to cancer cells based on the relative acidity of their environments.